Day 4 (Thursday 08/09/16)

At the start of the day we met in E0.44 to get some warm up. Helena instructed some stretches and it actually felt pretty good to stretch out, I haven’t done that this well at all this week.

Practical at T0.07 with Lynn

As we sat in chairs in a circle Lynn asked us if we knew the story of Little Red Riding Hood and why we thought it was still being retold after centuries. It’s because it’s an easy to retell and remember and there is a moral to the story. This tale is actually a cautionary tale, as we were taught in class; this means it teaches kids to beware. In this case it’s to beware of strangers, not wolves because there are actually no wolves who will speak to you.

We formed four groups and had to re-enact the story. We had five people in my group, including me and each person got assigned a character, and was also part of the scenery (tree, door, wall, etc). I was the hunter who slashes the wolf open and I also acted as a tree (I feel very confident in my tree role). I think we did alright, but I’m slightly disappointed that we didn’t have the wolf actually eat grandma and I wish I had said more things. I am glad I said “as a punishment, we should fill the wolf with rocks so that he drowns” Which, sure, is not very kid friendly but it adds another moral to the story: those who do bad things get punished. The first group had the in-betweens of the story well established but could have used a little more vocal expression. We, the second group, had a good representation of the environment and furniture. The third group had an interesting stop at the end of every scene to let the audience know that we can stop watching the scene and move on to what comes next. The fourth group had very good vocal representations of the characters.

Video:

After all the acting out and talking about how each group did, Lynn taught us about anthropomorphism (giving animals human traits) and zoomorphism (give humans animal traits). One crucial thing that has been said before but I learned and kind of need to keep it in my mind from now on is that we’re not acting to please ourselves, we’re acting to please the audience. For that, we need to keep in mind who our audience is and adapt how we act depending on who we’re acting for. Another interesting thing I learned that Lynn said was that the audience takes everything. Whatever you give them, they’ll take it. Now I just need to give them what they’ll like.

Practical T0.07 with Lynn

Before this class, Tom Barber was kind enough to see my vocal range and tell me if I’m a tenor or a bass. He said I have a range of 4 and a bit octaves so I can be either one.

We started off by just walking around and filling in the space that was empty until Lynn said stop. Then we had to pay close attention to how our feet moved and do what we were doing before. We gradually exaggerated the qualities of our specific walk. For me it was kind of a toe stop whenever I turned. After some more walking around and examining other people walk we had to pick one person and do their walk and if that person recognized themselves they’d have to say something.

What we did next was more walking but before that we stopped to imagine a person in front of us in as much detail as possible from another era. I imagined a medieval Viking man, about 48 years old, blonde longish hair covered mostly by his horned helmet and a blonde long beard. He was wearing brown rugged cloth vest and a same type of material kind of skirt. On top of that he was wearing some very light armour. He was holding an axe on the right hand and a shield on the left. His posture was a very protective and cautious one. After walking around like a Viking, Lynn asked us to describe the person and I failed to describe it the way I imagined it to be, but I came close and Lynn said that she could see it all from my posture. Interestingly any little detail might change who you’re portraying, for example: chin raised means high class or proud, while chin lowered means shy or embarrassed or feeling insignificant.

To end the class we spoke a bit about people who can become invisible in a room and people who you can sense straight away when entering a room. Some people drain energy from the room, others radiate it. I aim to be one that radiates energy but I’ll try exaggerated versions of each sometime during autumn.

Self directed study

For this part I planned to research a little on which fairy tale to act on our lesson with Lynn, I found some but it’s not easy to find tales that don’t have many words in them.

Leave a Reply

