Day 112 (Monday 13/03/17)

Our presentations of Art & Life were the first thing we did in the morning. I wasn’t stressing out because I knew what my ideas were, I just thought that some of my content might be difficult to present because some people might find it offensive.

A lot of ideas I thought were good enough to put effort in and to perform but a lot of them, as well, had little development done to them and were kind of just a suggestion of a type of dance. I think that’s a bit boring. Some topics and ideas that people suggested weren’t very clear and so they didn’t interest me as much. Ideas that were simple and clean or that were well worded and researched were the ones that worked out the best.

I have 5 ideas that stood out to me the most, ideas that I thought that could really work and that were well thought out. In no particular order.

Brayden Weibel-Seckley – ‘Self’ by Marc Quinn

Because this sculpture is made out of blood he thought about things he could present that were blood related. His outcome was the song ‘La Vie Boheme’ from Rent. Because aids is a blood related disease and Rent speaks about that this song is what he thought would be something great to perform as a Musical Theatre group. I think this is a great idea because as he said The Great Gatsby one they did before was amazing and this is something similar but different, I expect them to also be singing the song instead of just dancing like they did for Great Gatsby.

Justin Glenister – ‘Jazz Man’

Unfortunately Justin’s idea was a bit poorly presented but the idea itself is a very interesting one because the painting of ‘Jazz Man’ which he doesn’t mention the author to does really remind you of the song ‘Uptown Funk’ by Bruno Mars. Sounds like something difficult to perform for just the actors as he mentioned, which is why I don’t agree much with it being just the actors but if it is it will be so much fun as I think the actors all get along like a family – the whole of Conservatoire East does as well but we’re just always together really so we have a connection.

Mia Hoy – ‘The Little Mermaid’ by Edward Dulac

I didn’t expect an idea about ‘The Little Mermaid’ to be so good actually because I’m not much of a Disney fan. However, the fact that whenever it is played on stage they miss out the part where she feels extreme pain when walking. Playing that as she meets the prince is a very good characterising and acting opportunity.

Dylan Brown – ‘American Gothic’ by Grant Wood

I personally love this painting as I think it’s hilarious. I’m glad he presented this painting as one of his, as well as the idea that came with it. It’s quite simple but it would be very funny. The two people in the painting would be getting their portrait done and they’d be happy at the start and end up grumpy because the painter is taking so long. The conversation between them is what would make it hilarious, writing the script for it is the most important part of this piece. I would love to write it but as I wasn’t suggested for anything in it then I don’t think I will. This is a piece that has tremendous potential however if there is a good writer.

Emily Scott – ‘Decalcomania’ by Rene Magritte

This idea was suggested specifically for Dylan because he is the kind of person who does slapstick comedy. A man who would pretend to have an argument with himself and actually begin a fist fight. So, Fight Club if there was no second actor and it was actually a spoof. It would be funny and it would be great if it was Dylan performing it. Surely other people could have a go at it, I know I could but i doubt it would be as funny as Dylan because that’s just his thing. In the end I love this idea because it seems like something really interesting to watch for the audience.

 

 

My presentation according to the tutors was trying to be funny, although it had the response of being funny I wasn’t trying to be funny most of the time. People laughed at the most ridiculous things. “It can be performed by 13 people which I think is great!” That got a laugh, I don’t know why, but it did.

I do think that my presentation wasn’t the best in terms of presenting to an audience professionally. There were major flaws like turning my back to the audience and speaking backwards as well as looking into the screen a bit too much instead of the audience. It was a funny presentation instead of a professional one but the goal of it was to get my ideas through and to explain them as best as I can so that the audience and tutors have interest in those ideas. I don’t know if they did but I do know that by standing out your ideas get more fixed into other people’s brains because they laughed at it.

I got asked at the end who was the artist for the paintings I suggested for ‘The Foreigner’ and that is Rob Gonsalves, he’s the artist for both of those paintings as I have written down in my PowerPoint.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

